Feasting Wild

$19.49

In Search of the Last Untamed Food by Gina Rae La Cerva Examines the transformation of wild food from nutritional necessity to luxury commodity, and what this says about...

  • In stock

In Search of the Last Untamed Food

by Gina Rae La Cerva

  • Examines the transformation of wild food from nutritional necessity to luxury commodity, and what this says about our relationship to nature
  • Wild harvesting and foraging are recent trends that continue to grow in popularity
  • Intertwining a personal narrative with a literary exploration of wild foods, LaCerva travels the world pursuing questions about our relationship with wild food
  • Explores the crucial role of women and Indigenous people’s knowledge of plants and animals to scientific discovery, which has been suppressed by colonialism and exploitation
  • A geographer and environmental anthropologist, GinaRae LaCerva’s award-winning narrative writing has been published by THE Magazine, MIT Press, Sage Magazine, and The Santa Fe Journal, as well as top scholarly journals
  • Will appeal to readers who like Michael Pollan and Mark Kurlansky, as well as readers who like memoirs written by adventurous women, such as Cheryl Strayed and Helen MacDonald

 

img

Added to cart successfully!